The shortlist for the Miles Franklin Award was announced on 16 April 2009.

The short listed books are:

The Pages – Murray Bail
Breath – Tim Winton
Ice – Louis Nowra
The Slap – Christos Tsiolkas
Wanting – Richard Flanagan

The Award will be drawn on 18 June 2009.
For more information, or the Award long list visit the Miles Franklin Award website.